Built in 1935, this building was originally known as New Men’s Dormitory and housed 300 men. Waller Hall was constructed as a men's residence under the Self-Amortization Plan (see Community Hall). It was named for Osmer L. Waller, former vice president of the University. The U-shape replicates the form of Stimson Hall, although the quality of the open space within the U-shape at Waller has been lost somewhat because of its eastern orientation which leaves the space in shade during a good portion of the day.
Unique to this building is the design layout of the double rooms. Each room is divided in half giving each student their own living space. Waller Hall provides an example of historic architecture at an important entry point into the campus. The Colonial Revival style of architecture is strongly related to Stimson Hall and echoes the use of the traditional campus materials of brick, wood and courses of ashlar. The overpass crossing Stadium Way right below Waller was built around 1967.
Today, Waller Hall continues to serve as a men’s residence hall.
<gallery> image: Wallerconstruction1935.jpg|Waller Hall under construction in 1935. Photo courtesy of WSU Manuscripts, Archives, and Special Collections. image:Waller1936.jpg|Waller Hall pictured in 1936. Photo courtesy of WSU Manuscripts, Archives, and Special Collections. image: waller2.jpg| Waller Hall. Photo courtesy of WSU.
Our Story site map
Our Story is coordinated by
In partnership with
Our Story and Washington State Magazine are publications of Washington State University. All rights reserved.
P.O. Box 641227, Washington State University, Pullman, WA 99164-1227 USA | email@example.com, 509-335-2388
Accessibility | Copyright | Policies